WhatsApp has revealed what will happen to the accounts of those users who, after May 15, have not accepted its new conditions of use, which have been the subject of controversy in recent weeks.
The new effective date is May 15. But what happens if a person does not accept the new conditions before that date? This is what the company says on its own website:
“WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”
The new WhatsApp conditions may be accepted by users of the platform even after May 15. However, the company clarifies that the “ policy related to inactive users” will be applied. It exposes the following:
“WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity. Inactivity means the user hasn’t connected to WhatsApp.”
As of May 15, therefore, those users who have not accepted the new conditions will not be able to use the application normally. If, after 120 days from that date, they have not entered the application and accepted the new terms, their account will be automatically deleted from the platform.